Best Digital Audio Recorders

Check out our product review of the best digital audio recorders. We tried 10 models and can tell you the absolute best varieties.

In Hurry? Checkout Our Top Pick Of Best Digital Audio Recorders.

Our Top Pick
Zoom H1n Handy

9.7/10 our score

Best Digital Audio Recorders

Rank Product Name Score
1
Zoom H1n Handy

Zoom H1n Handy
9. 7
2
Zoom H4N Pro

Zoom H4N Pro
9. 5
3
Tascam DR-40X Handheld

Tascam DR-40X Handheld
9. 1
4
Sony ICD-PX470 Stereo

Sony ICD-PX470 Stereo
8. 8
5
Sony ICD-UX560

Sony ICD-UX560
8. 6
6
Olympus Voice WS-853

Olympus Voice WS-853
8. 2
7
Roland R-07-BK High-Resolution

Roland R-07-BK High-Resolution
8. 0
8
Tascam DR-100 MKIII

Tascam DR-100 MKIII
7 .7
9
Philips DPM8000

Philips DPM8000
7. 4
10
Olympus LS-P2 Linear PCM

Olympus LS-P2 Linear PCM
7. 2

1. Zoom H1n Handy

Zoom H1n Handy

9.7/10 our score

  • Streamlined Body with matte finish and newly designed protective mic enclosure
  • Built-in stereo condenser microphones in 90-Degree x/Y format
  • One-touch button controls.Battery life (alkaline batteries): Approximately 10 hours (continuous recording time using built-in mic, 44.1 kHz/16-bit)
  • Localized and intuitive menus for easy operation
  • Playback Speed Control, Voice Emphasize Filter, and Stereo overdubbing functions

2. Zoom H4N Pro

Zoom H4N Pro

9.5/10 our score

  • Four-channel recording up to 24-bit, 96 kHz. Built-in stereo x/Y microphones, up to 140 dB SPL
  • 2 XLR/TRS inputs with locking connectors. Records directly to SD/SDHC cards up to 32 GB
  • 4-In/2-out USB Audio Interface. Monaural speaker: 400 mW 8 Ω
  • Line/phone-line output load Impedance- 10 kω or more. Line rated output level: -10 dBu. Phone- 20 mW + 20 mW (into 32Ω load).Tempo:40.0 – 250.0 BPM
  • Usb 2.0 high speed. Usb functions can be powered using USB bus power. Plug-in and Phantom power cannot be set during recording and playback. Compatible operating systems is Windows Vista and newer Mac OS X 10.6 and newer

3. Tascam DR-40X Handheld

Tascam DR-40X Handheld

9.1/10 our score

  • ENSURE YOU BUY GENUINE TASCAM PRODUCTS! Products from sellers which say ‘fulfilled by Amazon’ under the price MIGHT NOT be an authorized TASCAM reseller, and might not be selling genuine TASCAM products which would forfeit any manufacturer warranties.
  • High-quality unidirectional stereo condenser microphones that can record in A-B and X-Y positions
  • XLR/TRS inputs compatible with +4dBu line level / +48V
  • 4-channel mode that can be used for dual recording and nondestructive overdub recording, etc.
  • Functions as a 2in/ 2out USB Audio Interface for Mac, PC or iOS recording

4. Sony ICD-PX470 Stereo

Sony ICD-PX470 Stereo

8.8/10 our score

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • Built-in, Direct USB connection for quick file transfer to your PC
  • Expand your memory with the micro SD card slot
  • Up to 55 hours of battery life for extended recording
  • Adjustable microphone range for clearer voices
  • Auto voice recording reduces background noise
  • In the box: IC Recorder, size AAA alkaline batteries (2), Operating Instructions, Warranty card

5. Sony ICD-UX560

Sony ICD-UX560

8.6/10 our score

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • Built in stereo microphone and voice operated recording
  • Three recording options: wide/stereo, narrow/focus and normal
  • Quick charge; up to 1 hour recording time, with 3 minute charge
  • Easy to use user interface and recording level indicator
  • Micro SD memory card slot, headphone jack & mic input. LCD backlight

6. Olympus Voice WS-853

Olympus Voice WS-853

8.2/10 our score

  • High quality MP3 recording;Includes Olympus Carrying Case for WS Series Voice Recorders
  • USB Direct connect with battery charge function
  • 8 gb internal memory
  • Micro SD card slot
  • Playback speed control 0.5X to 2.0X

7. Roland R-07-BK High-Resolution

Roland R-07-BK High-Resolution

8/10 our score

  • Lightweight compact hi-res recorder with Qualcomm aptX playback
  • Integrated stereo microphones for excellent recording quality capture
  • Bluetooth control and low latency wireless monitoring lets you control and listen to content using supported smart devices and Bluetooth speakers
  • One-touch templates for instant setup in any recording scenario
  • Built-in speaker for convenient playback anywhere
  • Simultaneous MP3 (64/96/128/160/192/224/320 kbps) and WAV recording (44.1/48/88.2/96 kHz, 16/24-bit)
  • 128 x 64 graphic LCD with white backlight for easy visibility
  • Runs on batteries (AA x 2 for 30-hour continuous playback and 16-hour continuous recording) or USB bus power
  • Supports micro SD cards (SD, SDHC)
  • Mic/aux input and headphone output

8. Tascam DR-100 MKIII

Tascam DR-100 MKIII

7.7/10 our score

  • Designed for the most demanding audio designers and engineers, combining robust reliability, an updated UI and studio-quality sonic performance
  • Features dual AKM AK4558 converters with VELVET SOUND architecture, providing both high sound quality and low power consumption
  • The XLR/TRS inputs, used to connect external mics, deliver some of the highest sound quality and lowest noise of any TASCAM Handheld Digital Recorder
  • Onboard dual stereo microphones with integrated shockmounts deliver flexible recording options with professional quality audio performance
  • Supports high definition recording at both 96kHz/24-bit and 192kHz/24-bit, ensuring that recordings achieve the sonic fidelity of studio-born counterparts
  • An integrated shock mount structure for the directional stereo microphone suppresses unwanted vibration and handling noise
  • The dual battery design allows the built-in high-capacity lithium-ion battery to be used with AA batteries for extended battery life

9. Philips DPM8000

Philips DPM8000

7.4/10 our score

  • Make sure this fits by entering your model number.
  • Philips DPM8000/01 Digital Pocket Memo with Speech Exec Pro Dictation Software and SR Module

10. Olympus LS-P2 Linear PCM

Olympus LS-P2 Linear PCM

7.2/10 our score